Tennessee DUI/DWI Lawyers
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a punishable offense in every state, but each state has its own set of laws that specifically outline the repercussions of intoxicated driving. In Tennessee, a DUI is characterized as having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over 0.08%. While this is the threshold at which it becomes illegal to operate a motor vehicle, you may still be charged with a DUI if your BAC was below the legal limit. Tennessee also has an “implied consent” law, which declares your position behind the wheel of a vehicle as consent for mandatory submission to a chemical test. Refusal to submit to a chemical test should an officer ask you to do so will result in automatic revocation of your driver’s license for a period of at least one year, depending on your history of being pulled over for intoxicated driving.
DUI’s and DWI’s are very serious criminal charges in Tennessee that needlessly claim thousands of lives every year. If you or a loved one was the victim of an accident caused by a drunken driver, the well-versed Tennessee DUI and DWI attorneys at Pohl & Berk, LLP can fight to hold responsible parties accountable to the fullest extent of the law.
Penalties for a DUI/ DWI
The criminal repercussions of for driving while intoxicated are generally very heavy and characterized by fines and possible jail time. Additionally, past criminal history will determine the severity to which an offender is charged. Criminal penalties for a DUI/ DWI include:
- 1st offense: 48 hours – 11 months and 29 days in jail; $350 – $1,500 fine; license revocation for 1 year; court fees of up to $4,900
- 2nd offense: 45 days – 11 months and 29 days in jail; $600 – $3,500 fine; license revocation for 2 years; mandatory forfeit of your vehicle
- 3rd offense: 120 days – 11 months and 29 days in jail; $1,100 – $10,000 fine; mandatory forfeit of your vehicle; license revocation for 6 – 10 years
- 4th offense: 1 year in jail; $3,000 – $15,000 fine; mandatory forfeit of your vehicle; license revocation for 8 years
A person charged with intoxicated driving may also be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle once their driver’s license is no longer suspended. With this device, the vehicle will only start if the driver’s BAC is at a safe, sober limit.
On top of any criminal penalties, drunk drivers who injure innocent people also face the possibility of being held civilly liable for their misconduct. Their irresponsible behavior can leave other motorists suffering serious and possibly life-threatening harm. Drunk drivers can be held liable for the medical costs, property damage, and other expenses they forced upon their victims.
Consult with a DUI/ DWI Attorney in Tennessee
Personal injuries and death caused by DUIs and DWIs are preventable tragedies that result in undue suffering for victims and their loved ones. For this reason, the proficient Tennessee DUI/DWI lawyers at Pohl & Berk, LLP believe in obtaining justice for those suffering at the hands of negligent individuals. If you or a loved one has been the victim of a collision involving a drunken driver, don’t hesitate to contact our offices at (615) 277-2765.